This 16th century Renaissance building is home to the Museo Picasso Málaga (Málaga Picasso Museum) and was the residence of the Counts of Buenavista after whom it is named. After the Royal Decree of 1913, it became the home of the Museo de Bellas Artes (Museum of Fine Arts) and in 1939 it was declared a National Monument.
In 1996 it was chosen to house the Picasso Museum because of the importance of its civil architecture, and the gallery was officially opened in 2003 after the building's refurbishment.
The façade, the tower and the main courtyard are the most characteristic elements of the building. On the main façade, built entirely of stone, we can see the asymmetrical arrangement of the blocks and, in the spaces and openings, the Renaissance decoration on doors and windows. Specifically, the main door and the window above form a unique group.
The rectangular medieval defence tower became a lookout tower used for identifying ships arriving at the Port. Its dual lowered arch can be seen from Calle San Agustín.
Inside, organised around a courtyard with double gallery, we can find Mudéjar carved ceilings and the Phoenician remains found during the renovation work.
- Calle San Agustin, 8